Tags

, , , , , ,

Nectarine Upside-Down Chiffon Cake

I made this ten-inch lemon chiffon cake with nectarine topping and streusel filling for my family’s Labor Day BBQ. I am trying to get back in sync with my fellow TWD bakers. Summer for my family has been filled with camping trips away from my kitchen. I’ve had my fill of s’mores and I am ready for some serious baking.

You can find the recipe here at this week’s hosts: The Double Trouble Kitchen and The Little French Bakery.

In the cake world, chiffon lives somewhere between batter cakes and foam cakes. Vegetable oil is a key ingredient. While this makes for a very moist cake it is hard to beat air into oil. So a chiffon cake relies on both leavenings like baking powder and baking soda and beating egg whites until stiff and folding them into the cake batter before baking.

Without the richness of butter in the batter like a traditional cake chiffon cakes are well suited to toppings like the caramelized nectarines in this upside-down version. Other fruit like pears, apples, apricots, plums, or bananas can be substituted.

When I made mine I did use light brown sugar instead of dark brown sugar (it was what I already had on hand). I baked it for closer to 60 minutes at 350 degrees F. than the 45-50 minutes called for. I had no problems unmolding it from my 10 inch springform pan. It sunk slightly in the middle but that didn’t really matter in the end. It was baked well throughout and tasted great.

I would consider this a complete TWD baking success for me. I’m looking forward to more fall baking in the weeks ahead!

Do you bake more in the fall/winter too? Are you gearing up for a fall baking spree?