Tags

, , , , , ,

Lemon Loaf Cake with Mascarpone and Amaretto

Lemon loaf cake has a texture and crumb like a pound cake. The quick method used here was similar to making a genoise cake (a whole egg sponge cake that uses air suspended in the batter during mixing to give volume to the cake). It has a subtle lemon flavor from grated lemon zest added to the batter.

You can find the recipe at this week’s hosts: Treats and LadyStiles. It was fast and easy to make. The house smelled fabulous!

I combined the lemon loaf cake with some inspiration from Giada De Laurentiis. She has a fantastic recipe for toasted pound cake with mascarpone and amaretto. I have made this before with a store bought pound cake. This time I couldn’t wait to try it with my homemade lemon loaf! I also thought the lemon flavored cake would brighten the flavor of this dessert.

I cut my lemon loaf into 12 slices then very lightly toasted them in a 350 degrees F. oven for about 7-10 minutes. Next I slightly warmed 3/4 cup apricot jam in the microwave for 10 seconds. I added a few tablespoons of Disaronno almond flavored liqueur to the the apricot jam. I placed some mascarpone cheese on 6 of the lemon loaf slices and topped them sandwich style with another slice. I drizzled the apricot-amaretto mixture over each and sprinkled with some toasted almonds.

I think the subtle lemon flavor of the cake nicely complemented the apricot and amaretto flavors of the jam mixture. The mascarpone cheese added a richness to make this an outstanding dessert. Whether you enjoy the lemon loaf alone or combine it with the mascarpone and amaretto I don’t think you can go wrong.

How do you jazz up a pound cake? Fresh fruit and whipped cream? Or maybe something more exotic. Let me know!