Tags

, , , , ,

Hungarian Shortbread with Tart Cherry Preserves

Boy this is good! It’s not your typical shortbread. It’s a little softer. The preserve filling definitely adds pizazz. This Hungarian shortbread is easy to make and yields a large 9 x 13 inch tray.

A box grater is used to shred a buttery shortbread dough that has been firmed up in the freezer. While not difficult, some muscle was required to push all the dough through the grater. Other TWD bakers wisely used a food processor for the shredding but I stuck with the original recipe and did it all by hand.

You can find the recipe for Hungarian Shortbread at 1 Small Kitchen and The Not So Exciting Adventures of a Dabbler.

I did make some changes to the original recipe

  • I reduced the amount of sugar to 1 1/2 cups
  • I substituted tart cherry preserves for the homemade rhubarb jam
  • I lined the bottom of the pan with parchment paper
  • I par-baked the crust for 15 minutes at 350 degrees F., spread the preserves and the remaining shredded dough, and then baked for an additional 40 minutes
  • I covered the edges with aluminum foil for the last 10 minutes to prevent over-browning
  • I placed the room temperature cooked shortbread in the freezer for a few minutes before I cut it into squares

My bottom crust and the top both had a nice golden color. It was baked pretty well throughout. I liked the contrast between the super sweet buttery dough and the tart cherry preserves.

Time for tea and a piece of lovely shortbread filled with cherry preserves. I bet a lot of other jam and preserve flavors would pair nicely with this shortbread dough.

What flavor of fruit preserves do you fancy?