Tags

, , , , ,

Fruit and Berry Galette

I love this easy crust hugging peaches and raspberries. I made the dough by hand and added some homemade yogurt (a new experiment in my kitchen) and what seems to be a secret ingredient: yellow cornmeal. The result is an easy to handle dough that’s slightly tart and crispy. The recipe makes enough dough for two small galettes and knowing my family’s appetite for dessert I went ahead and made both at once.

No regrets on that. These galettes were delicious.

You can find the recipe here at the hosts: Tomato Thymes in the Kitchen and Garden and The Kitchen Lioness.

After forming the dough into two disks I refrigerated them for about three hours. I decided to go with peaches and raspberries for my filling but you could use any fruit and berries here.

I rolled the chilled dough out into 11-inch circles. It was a little sticky but with some flour under the dough and on my rolling pin I had no troubles. I placed my sliced peaches and raspberries over the dough and left a couple inch border around. Then I sprinkled the filling with both granulated sugar and honey.

The edges of the dough were folded over the filling and the crust brushed lightly with water before more sugar was sprinkled on.

I baked the galettes for about 40 minutes at 400 degrees F. There was a small amount of juice leaking but I think that is part of the charm of these rustic little pies.

I am hanging on to this recipe! My whole family enjoyed them. The peaches were soft and sweet and the raspberries provided a bright tart contrast. I am already thinking about blueberries for the filling. Apple galettes would be perfect for fall. Or maybe pears. Or one of each. I don’t think my family will complain if galettes keep showing up after dinner.