Tags

, , , ,

It’s the sharing time of year. My children decided to share their cold germs with me. So I had made this lovely blog but felt too crummy to bake last week. I craved something tried and true as I returned to the kitchen and I thought of this peach kuchen dessert. Kuchen is German for cake, although it can also refer to desserts like this with a crust and a sweet custard filling. This peach kuchen comes together in a flash using canned peaches and has all the ooey gooey comfort I needed. It’s fantastic warm with whipped cream or you can eat it chilled. I’m feeling better already and thinking of having another piece.

Peach Kuchen

Peach Kuchen

Source: Adapted from: The Taste of Home Baking Book

Crust:

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 cup confectioners’ sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup cold butter

Filling:

2 cans (one 29 ounces, one 15-1/4 ounces) sliced peaches, drained

2 eggs

1 cup sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

3 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1 cup (8 ounces) sour cream

In a small bowl, combine the flour, confectioners’ sugar and salt. Cut in butter until the mixture resembles course crumbs.

Cutting in Butter

(Note: I remember asking my mother how the heck to “cut in butter” when I was first learning how to bake. Never fear–it’s easy. Cut your butter into small pieces. I first take the cold butter and cut it into tablespoons. Then I quarter each of those. Put those small pieces of butter into the bowl with the flour, sugar and salt. Using a handy dandy gadget called a pastry blender or just use a fork, keep pressing the butter into the dry ingredients until the butter is mixed in and the size of small peas. Don’t overdo it. You want it course and crumbly.)

Pat lightly into an ungreased 11-in. x 7-in. x 2-in baking dish.

Arrange peaches over the crust; set aside. In another bowl, beat eggs. Whisk in the sugar, salt, flour and sour cream until mixture is smooth. Pour over the peaches.

Bake at 450 degrees F for 10 minutes. Reduce heat to 325 degrees F; bake for 35-40 minutes or until center is set. Serve it warm with whipped cream or chilled.

With a quick crust and creamy fruit-custard filling, this peach kuchen is always a family pleaser.

