Tags

, , , ,

Banana-Chocolate Bread

Not only did I find myself with overripe bananas on my counter, but also with leftover chocolate from the tartlets I had made a few weeks ago. (The only reason “leftover chocolate” can even exist in my household is because I hide it in the back of my baking cabinet.) Then I came across this recipe for banana-chocolate bread and knew that I was destined to make it. If banana bread married chocolate chip cookies I imagine it might go something like this. Chopping the chocolate yourself instead of using chips really distributes the chocolate flavor and leaves you with big bites of chocolate goodness.

Banana-Chocolate Bread

Source: Adapted from Everyday Food, March 2012

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature, plus more for the pan

1 2/3 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for pan

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/4 cups sugar

2 large eggs, room temperature

1 1/2 cups mashed overripe bananas (about 3-4)

2 tablespoons sour cream

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

6 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Butter and flour a 5 x 9 inch loaf pan. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt.

In a large bowl, using an electric mixer, beat butter and sugar on medium-high until fluffy, 3 minutes. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition and scraping down the bowl as needed. Beat in bananas, sour cream, and vanilla. Beat in flour mixture and chocolate on medium. Pour batter into pan. Bake until a thin knife inserted in center of loaf comes out clean, 50-60 minutes. (I thought my top was overbrowning slightly here so I covered it with aluminum foil for the last few minutes).

Let bead cool in the pan for 10 minutes. Remove bread from pan and let cool completely on a wire rack.

