Tags

, , ,

Chocolate Truffle Tartlets

It all started with a cookbook I gifted myself called Baking: From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan. I had been baking a recipe from it each week for fun. I even said, somewhat jokingly, that I would try to bake every recipe from the book. Well, it turns out I was a little late to that party. A group of bloggers was doing exactly that–baking and blogging about every recipe in Dorie Greenspan’s baking book. Well they have finished that project and ventured onto a new one. This time I have a blog of my own and have joined in on the baking fun.

Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia is an open group that will be baking and blogging through another one of Dorie Greenspan’s books called Baking with Julia based on the PBS series hosted by Julia Child. The rules of the group include owning a copy of the book Baking with Julia, baking at least one of two recipes on the group schedule each month, and blogging about it. So I am in! At least one person from the group will “host” and have the recipe posted. I will link to that blog so you can have the recipe too. Here it goes for my first recipe from the book!

Chocolate Truffle Tartlets

Source: Adapted from Baking with Julia by Dorie Greenspan

Hosting this recipe are: A Whisk and a Spoon, Spike, Good Eats and Sweet Treats, and Cook Book Habit. Please visit for the recipe and some other great blog posts!

If you’ve followed my blog you already know that I’m a big fan of tarts. They are easy, upscale, and taste fabulous. These chocolate truffle tartlets didn’t disappoint.

The crust was a little more challenging that previous tart crusts I have tackled. I used a food processor to work the butter into the dry ingredients and moisten the mixture with egg yolk and water. Then I used my hands to bring the dough into one piece. Or at least that was the goal. My dough was crumbly and hardly in one cohesive piece. I think I maybe needed to pulse the dough a little less and possibly add more water to the dough.

 I soldiered on with what I had and put it into the refrigerator to chill. An hour later I rolled the dough out but it continued to crumble. I was not going to be able to roll the dough onto a rolling pin and lift it into the tartlet pans. So I took a gamble. I divided what I had into 6 equal squares and just used my fingers to press the dough into each tart pan. I chilled them again, pricked them with a fork, and baked as directed. Success! The crust was very forgiving in the end and I had 6 lovely tart shells waiting to be filled.

My filling came together without difficulty. The smell was amazing. There was so much chocolate used to create this incredible filling: dark, milk, and white along with some chopped biscotti for crunch. I carefully filled my tarts and baked them in the oven for about 12 minutes. They looked and smelled terrific.

These tarts are so rich and over the top that I would probably make them again for a special occasion instead of a weeknight dessert. A great treat and a baking success for my first Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia blog post. I look forward to tackling other recipes in the book!

